Last updated: 14 October 2026 (every price re-read on the platforms’ own sites that day). Written by Josh Hutcheson, OnlineCourseing editor. See our review methodology.
Quick verdict
Bottom line: MasterClass is the best all-round pick: 20 or so cooking classes from chefs such as Gordon Ramsay, Thomas Keller and Massimo Bottura, plus 200+ classes outside the kitchen, from $120 a year. For long, single-cuisine courses, YesChef. For chef feedback and a certificate, Rouxbe. For one cheap course with no subscription, Udemy. For tested recipes and the “why” behind them, America’s Test Kitchen.
- Best overall / variety: MasterClass ($120 a year and up)
- Best for serious cooks: YesChef ($168 for the first year on its current fall sale)
- Best for a certificate: Rouxbe ($129 a year; professional certifications $1,999)
- Best on a budget: Udemy (buy one course, nothing renews)
- Best tested recipes: America’s Test Kitchen Classes (honest, unaffiliated pick)
- Best live, cook-along classes: Sur La Table, Cozymeal or Milk Street (unaffiliated)
The best online cooking classes at a glance
Before you spend money on the wrong online course, read this.
Get the free 2026 Platform Comparison Guide — 12 platforms compared on price, certificates, and refund policies. Instant PDF, plus my honest Tuesday picks.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Platform | Best for | Price (read 14 October 2026) | Free trial or guarantee |
|---|---|---|---|
| MasterClass | Variety + celebrity chefs | $120, $180 or $240 a year | 30-day money-back guarantee on a first purchase |
| YesChef | Deep, single-cuisine courses | $240 a year list; $168 first year on the fall sale; $549.99 lifetime ($384.99 on sale) | 30-day money-back guarantee |
| Rouxbe | Chef feedback + a certificate | $129 a year or $15 a month; certifications $1,999 | 7-day free trial, no card |
| Udemy | One cheap course, no subscription | Priced per course | Udemy’s refund policy (see the course page) |
| America’s Test Kitchen Classes | Tested recipes and technique | $39.99 a year add-on, or $89.99 with Essential | 14-day free trial |
| Sur La Table / Cozymeal / Milk Street | Live classes on Zoom | About $30 to $85 per class | Pay per class |
Prices are from each platform’s own pricing or checkout page on 14 October 2026. YesChef’s sale price applies to the first year only; renewals are at the list price.
How we picked
We judged each platform on how well it teaches you to cook: the instruction, the depth per topic, the price, and what happens when you get stuck. Famous chefs count for less than clear technique and recipes you can follow in an ordinary kitchen. We name the best option for each goal, including platforms we do not earn a commission from: America’s Test Kitchen and the live-class schools below are unaffiliated, and they are on the list on merit.
Every price and course detail on this page was read on the platform’s own site on 14 October 2026. We did not take classes on all six platforms for this guide, so we do not claim to have cooked every recipe; where we describe what a class is like, it comes from the platform’s lesson plans, its help articles and what members say in public reviews. For narrower goals, see our guides to the best online baking classes, the best MasterClass cooking classes, and the YesChef vs MasterClass head-to-head.
1. MasterClass — best overall
MasterClass has the deepest celebrity-chef roster online. Its Food and Drink category listed 30 instructors on 14 October 2026, among them Gordon Ramsay (two cooking classes), Thomas Keller (three), Massimo Bottura, Gabriela Cámara, Aaron Franklin, Yotam Ottolenghi, Wolfgang Puck, Alice Waters and Dominique Ansel for pastry. The same membership opens 200+ classes outside the kitchen, which is why it is the best value for most people.
What you get
Classes run from about three and a half to seven hours each. Gordon Ramsay Teaches Cooking I is 20 lessons (3 hr 54 min) and builds from knife skills to beef Wellington; Thomas Keller’s three technique classes add up to 75 lessons and almost 18 hours. Ramsay’s and Keller’s classes come with downloadable workbooks of the recipes. Lessons are short and polished, and each chef cooks a dish from start to finish, so you see the whole method rather than a highlights reel.
What it costs
| MasterClass plan | Price | Devices at once | Offline downloads |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $120 a year ($10/month, billed annually) | 1 | No |
| Plus | $180 a year ($15/month, billed annually) | 2 | Yes |
| Premium | $240 a year ($20/month, billed annually) | 6 | Yes |
Every plan includes every class; the difference is how many screens can watch at once and whether you can download for offline viewing. MasterClass does not sell single classes, and the 30-day money-back guarantee covers a first-time purchase made on its website. No sale was running on 14 October; MasterClass ran 50% off annual plans for Labor Day (ended 10 September) and for Black Friday in 2024 and 2025, and our Black Friday tracker follows this year’s offer.
The trade-off
Nobody checks your cooking. There are no assignments and no feedback, and the classes favor technique and inspiration over drills. If you will only ever watch the cooking classes, the per-class math is weaker than it looks; it works best for people who will also watch a few classes in other categories over the year. Read whether MasterClass is worth it and our ranking of the best MasterClass cooking classes.
2. YesChef — best for serious cooks
YesChef does only cooking, and it goes deep. Seven chefs have a full class on the platform on 14 October 2026: Jamie Oliver, Nancy Silverton, Francis Mallmann, Edward Lee, Asma Khan, Kwame Onwuachi and Erez Komarovsky. A documentary about Dario Cecchini is up, and YesChef says his second part and more lessons are coming. Every class opens with an hour-long film about the chef, then moves to their own kitchen for the dishes they are known for.
What you get
The classes are long: Jamie Oliver’s is 24 lessons, 54 recipes and 7.5 hours; Francis Mallmann’s is 30 lessons and 57 recipes over 6.5 hours, including how to recreate his open-fire cooking on an ordinary stove and oven; the rest run 5 to 6 hours. Each lesson has its recipe, step-by-step instructions and English or Spanish subtitles, and the recipes come as PDF cookbooks. You can ask questions through a Feedback tab in every lesson.
What it costs
YesChef had a 30% fall sale on 14 October 2026 with no end date: the yearly plan was $14 a month ($168 for the first year) instead of $20 a month, the three-month plan $67.20 instead of $96, and the lifetime plan $384.99 instead of $549.99. Every plan has a 30-day money-back guarantee. Note that the sale price is for the first year; the yearly plan renews automatically at the full price unless you turn off auto-renew in your profile.
The trade-off
The library is small. One lifetime member wrote on Trustpilot that they could watch everything in about six months. YesChef is a web app, with no native iPhone or Android app yet, no offline downloads, and TV viewing by casting with Chromecast or Apple TV. Read our YesChef review for the class-by-class detail.
3. Rouxbe — best for a certificate
Rouxbe is an online culinary school rather than a video library. A membership gives you 11 structured courses, 75 lessons and hundreds of recipes, and you can submit questions in any course, lesson or recipe and get answers from Rouxbe’s chef-instructors. That feedback is the thing MasterClass and YesChef do not offer.
What you get
Finishing a membership course earns a Certificate of Completion. For a serious credential, Rouxbe’s Professional Cook Certification is a 200-hour course covering a basic professional cooking curriculum, from knife skills, stocks and sauces to meat, fish, breads and plating, with Rouxbe-graded competency assessments and a final exam. Its Professional Plant-Based Certification is the plant-based equivalent.
What it costs
Membership is $30 for the first month, then $15 a month, or $129 a year. A third plan, Swich, builds AI-personalized courses from Rouxbe’s library for $150 a year. Each professional certification is $1,999 one-time. Rouxbe offers a 7-day free trial with full access and no credit card, which makes it the easiest platform here to try for free.
The trade-off
Rouxbe asks for work. It suits someone who wants to practice and be corrected, or who is thinking about a cooking job; it is less fun to watch than MasterClass or YesChef. See our Rouxbe review and, for accredited programs, the best online culinary schools.
Explore Rouxbe’s certification →
4. Udemy — best on a budget
Udemy is the cheapest way in, and the only pick here where you can buy one course and keep it with nothing renewing. Its cooking catalog sits under Food and Beverage and splits into cuisines (Indian, Italian, Thai, Japanese, Chinese), baking, bread, pastry, vegan cooking and more.
Courses worth a look
The best-rated broad course on 14 October 2026 was Essential Cooking Skills by Viorel Copolovici: 4.8 stars from 4,456 ratings and 21,722 students, 1.5 hours and 18 lectures on the basic techniques used in professional kitchens. It was last updated in November 2017, so treat it as fundamentals, not a current course. Healthy Cooking Fundamentals by Chef Nic DeMuth (4.5 stars, 2,823 ratings, 1.5 hours) is the other strong beginner option.
Cuisine-specific courses
Udemy is strongest when you want one cuisine or one technique. Indian Culinary World by Jyoti Sawant (4.5 stars from 1,651 ratings, 4 hours, 78 lectures) is a full course on Indian home cooking, and 30 Universal Sauces and Dips by Chef Bald Nachi (4.5 stars, 112 ratings, 2.5 hours) covers continental sauce basics. Search the catalog for the cuisine you want and sort by rating, but read the newest reviews before trusting a high average from years ago.
The trade-off
Udemy’s courses are made by independent instructors, so quality varies course by course and none is celebrity-led. Check the rating, the number of ratings and the “last updated” date before you buy. Prices change often and Udemy runs frequent sales, so the course page is the only reliable price.
Browse Udemy cooking courses →
5. America’s Test Kitchen — best for tested recipes
America’s Test Kitchen’s old Online Cooking School is now ATK Classes, on the web and in the ATK app. Classes are video lessons with step-by-step technique from Test Kitchen regulars such as Bridget Lancaster and Christie Morrison, on topics like basic knife skills, essential sauces, shrimp and gluten-free sourdough, with new classes added every month and an option for one-on-one support.
ATK Classes is an add-on to an ATK Essential membership: $39.99 a year for existing members, or $89.99 a year bundled with Essential, and the app offers a $9.99 monthly option (ATK help center, read 14 October 2026). New members can start with a 14-day free trial of Essential. ATK says the classes are not accredited and carry no grades or certificate. We have no affiliate relationship with ATK; it is here because its recipes are tested and its teaching explains why a method works, which suits cooks who want reliability more than celebrity.
How to choose the right cooking class
Start with what you want to be able to do in three months:
- Cook better everyday food, with variety: MasterClass. Start with Gordon Ramsay’s first class, then pick a cuisine.
- Really learn one cuisine: YesChef, choosing the chef whose food you want to cook every week.
- Be corrected, or earn a certificate: Rouxbe. Use the 7-day free trial first.
- Spend as little as possible: one well-rated Udemy course.
- Follow recipes that work the first time: America’s Test Kitchen Classes.
- Cook along with a real instructor: a live class from Sur La Table, Cozymeal or Milk Street.
- Bake: our best online baking classes guide goes deeper. Into crafts too? See whether Craftsy is worth it.
Use the trial or the guarantee to test the teaching style before you commit: Rouxbe and ATK let you try free, and MasterClass and YesChef both refund a first purchase within 30 days.
More online cooking classes worth knowing
These schools teach live, over Zoom, which the subscription platforms above do not. We have no affiliate relationship with any of them.
Sur La Table: live classes from $39 per household
Sur La Table’s online classes are taught live by a chef-instructor who answers questions as you cook. You get an ingredient list, equipment notes and setup tips before class, and classes typically run 1.5 to 2 hours. Online classes start at $39 per household, so everyone cooking in your kitchen is covered by one registration. Cancel at least 48 hours ahead for a refund, a gift card or an exchange; inside 48 hours, someone else can take your place.
Cozymeal: themed classes, some with kits
Cozymeal listed 60 live online cooking classes on 14 October 2026, mostly $39 to $49 a person, with some at $85 a person including an ingredient kit. You can filter by cuisine and by theme, including couples, beginners, teens and kids, and book a private class for a group or team event. Chefs teach live and take questions in real time.
Milk Street Cooking School: livestreams and small workshops
Christopher Kimball’s Milk Street runs 60- to 75-minute livestream classes (October classes were $29.95, and livestreams are included in a Milk Street Insider membership) and 90- to 120-minute small-group workshops capped at 25 people ($64.95). It also sells recorded livestreams and self-paced courses, and runs in-person classes in Boston.
The Chef & The Dish: private classes with chefs abroad
The Chef & The Dish connects you live with a chef cooking from their own kitchen abroad, from pasta in Italy to Pad Thai in Thailand. Private one-to-one experiences start at $185 a person. It is the most expensive option here and the closest thing to a private lesson.
Where you can watch: phone, TV and offline
| Platform | Phone and tablet | TV | Offline downloads |
|---|---|---|---|
| MasterClass | iPhone and Android apps | Apps for Apple TV, Roku and Android TV | Plus and Premium plans only |
| YesChef | Web app in the browser (add it to your home screen) | Cast with Chromecast or Apple TV | No |
| ATK Classes | ATK app | Not stated on ATK’s help pages | Not stated |
| Live classes | Zoom on any device | Zoom on a laptop connected to a TV | Recordings vary by school |
This matters more for cooking than for most subjects, because you are watching with flour on your hands. A tablet propped on the counter is the most practical setup for every platform here. If your kitchen has poor Wi-Fi, MasterClass Plus or Premium is the only subscription here that lets you download lessons to watch offline; YesChef says it needs a stable connection and does not support downloads.
From MasterClass’s checkout and help center, YesChef’s help articles (“Do you have an app?”, “Can I watch YesChef on my TV?”, “Can I download or watch the videos offline?”) and ATK’s help center, read 14 October 2026.
A four-week plan to actually learn to cook online
Most people who buy a cooking subscription watch a few lessons and stop. A plan that makes you cook something every week works better. Here is one built on the platforms above:
- Week 1, knife skills and eggs. Watch the knife and vegetable lessons in Gordon Ramsay’s first MasterClass (or a free knife-skills video if you have not subscribed yet), then cook eggs three ways. Repeat the cuts until they are even.
- Week 2, one sauce and one protein. Pick a pan sauce and a roast chicken from Ramsay, Keller or Wolfgang Puck. Cook it twice in the week; the second attempt is where you learn.
- Week 3, one cuisine. Choose the food you eat most and follow one chef through three of their dishes: Gabriela Cámara or Massimo Bottura on MasterClass, or Asma Khan or Edward Lee on YesChef.
- Week 4, cook for someone. Make a three-dish meal from what you learned. If you want feedback on it, this is the week to try Rouxbe’s free trial and submit a question to its chef-instructors.
If you are still cooking at the end of the four weeks, the subscription is earning its keep. If not, both MasterClass and YesChef refund a first purchase within 30 days, which covers this plan.
What you need before your first class
Less than you think. YesChef says most of its recipes use tools and ingredients you already have, and its chefs suggest alternatives when they use something unusual. For any platform, start with a sharp chef’s knife, a large cutting board, a heavy skillet, a saucepan, a sheet pan and an instant-read thermometer. Two classes need more: Aaron Franklin’s BBQ class on MasterClass assumes a smoker, and Francis Mallmann’s open-fire class on YesChef shows how to adapt the recipes to a standard stove and oven. For live classes, read the prep packet a day ahead, because the chef will not wait while you shop.
Live classes or on-demand video: which suits you?
| On-demand video (MasterClass, YesChef, Udemy, ATK) | Live classes (Sur La Table, Cozymeal, Milk Street) | |
|---|---|---|
| Schedule | Any time, as often as you like | Fixed date and time (Zoom, usually Eastern Time) |
| Questions | Limited (YesChef Feedback tab; ATK one-on-one option) | Ask the chef while you cook |
| Cost | One subscription or course for many recipes | About $30 to $85 for a single class |
| Best for | Building skills over months | A date night, a group event, or one specific dish |
| Feedback on your food | None (Rouxbe is the exception) | Real-time tips, but no grading |
Most people learn more from on-demand video because they can pause, repeat and cook the same dish twice. Live classes are better as an event, or when you want someone to answer “is this supposed to look like this?” as it happens.
Free online cooking classes
“Free” is one of the most common things people search for here. These are the honest options, without signing up for anything you will forget to cancel:
- Rouxbe’s 7-day free trial gives full access to its courses, lessons and recipes, with no credit card.
- America’s Test Kitchen offers a 14-day free trial of its Essential membership; Classes is an add-on.
- MasterClass has no free trial of its own, but a member can send you a 14-day Guest Pass. It turns into a paid membership unless you cancel before it ends.
- Trailers and samples: MasterClass posts a trailer and usually a sample lesson on every class page, and YesChef shows lesson previews on each class page and on its YouTube channel.
- YouTube: many of these chefs publish free videos, and it is the right place to start if you just want a recipe tonight.
What free does not get you is structure: a sequence of lessons that builds a skill, and recipes written to go with them. That is what the paid platforms charge for.
Online cooking classes with a certificate
Most online cooking classes do not give a certificate. MasterClass says it has no certificate of completion for its classes, YesChef says it is not a conventional cooking school with certificates, and ATK says its classes are not accredited and carry no grades or certification. Udemy gives a certificate of completion on paid courses, which shows you finished but is not a culinary credential.
Rouxbe is the exception at this price level: membership courses end with a Certificate of Completion, and its two $1,999 professional certifications are graded against set competencies. If you need an accredited diploma or degree for a cooking job, compare the programs in our guide to the best online culinary schools.
Start Rouxbe’s free 7-day trial →
How much do online cooking classes cost?
It depends on the format. Here is what a year of cooking classes costs on each platform, using the prices read on 14 October 2026:
| Platform | One year | Cheapest way to start |
|---|---|---|
| MasterClass | $120 (Standard) | Guest Pass from a member, or the 30-day guarantee |
| YesChef | $168 first year on sale ($240 list) | 3-month plan, $67.20 on sale |
| Rouxbe | $129 | 7-day free trial, then $30 for the first month |
| ATK Classes | $89.99 with Essential | 14-day free trial of Essential |
| Udemy | No subscription needed | One course |
| Live classes | Per class | $29.95 (Milk Street livestream) to $39 (Sur La Table, per household) |
A subscription is the better deal if you will cook along with more than a handful of classes a year. If you want one specific skill, such as sourdough or knife work, a single course or live class costs less.
Online cooking classes for kids, teens and couples
For couples, a live class is the easiest win: Sur La Table charges per household, so two people cook for one price, and Cozymeal has a couples filter. For teens and kids, Cozymeal lists classes for both, and on-demand platforms work too: YesChef says its classes suit every level of home cook, and MasterClass’s Gordon Ramsay class starts with kitchen basics.
What members say about MasterClass and YesChef
MasterClass’s Trustpilot page had a TrustScore of 1.6 from 1,178 reviews when we read it on 13 October 2026. Trustpilot notes that MasterClass has not invited customers to review recently, so the page leans toward people with a problem. Of the 60 most recent reviews (March to September 2026), 49 gave one star, and most of those were about billing rather than classes: an annual membership that renewed automatically, trouble finding where to cancel, support handled by a chatbot, and 50% refund offers after a renewal had gone through. The content complaints that did come up said some classes felt basic. The happy reviewers praised the instructors and the production.
YesChef’s Trustpilot page scored 3.3 from 501 reviews on 14 October 2026, with 68% five-star and 16% one-star. We read the 40 most recent. Members praise the filming, the chefs’ stories and recipes that turn out as promised. The complaints are about annual renewals charged at the full price without the member noticing, gift memberships that tried to renew, and slow replies; several reviewers later added that YesChef refunded them. A few said the library felt small once they had worked through their favorite chefs.
Reddit’s cooking forums are more skeptical. In a 2019 r/AskCulinary thread, a parent choosing between Rouxbe, ATK, MasterClass and Udemy was told by someone who had used the first three that Rouxbe gave the soundest fundamentals and the most responsive instructors, ATK had more interesting dishes but a frustrating site at the time, and MasterClass worked better as a gift than as an education. In r/Cooking threads about MasterClass, regulars praise Thomas Keller’s classes in particular but say the cooking catalog stays close to fundamentals, and many argue that a good cookbook plus free videos teaches as much. The counterpoint from one poster sums up what the paid platforms sell: a course “in some sort of logical progression” instead of hopping between videos.
Before you buy any subscription
Both MasterClass and YesChef renew automatically each year, and both refund only within 30 days of the first purchase. Put the renewal date in your calendar, or turn off auto-renewal the day you join if you only want one year. Our MasterClass cancellation guide has the steps.
Frequently asked questions
What’s the best online cooking class for beginners?
Gordon Ramsay Teaches Cooking I on MasterClass: 20 lessons that start with kitchen setup and knife skills and build to beef Wellington. If you would rather not subscribe, Udemy’s Essential Cooking Skills (4.8 stars from 4,456 ratings) is a cheap single course on the basics.
Are online cooking classes worth it?
For most home cooks, yes, if you cook along rather than just watch. A year of MasterClass ($120) or Rouxbe ($129) costs about the same as one or two in-person classes, and you can repeat a lesson as often as you need. Pick one platform that matches your goal and use its trial or guarantee first.
How do online cooking classes work?
There are two kinds. On-demand platforms (MasterClass, YesChef, Rouxbe, Udemy, ATK) are recorded video lessons you watch and cook along with whenever you like. Live classes (Sur La Table, Cozymeal, Milk Street) run on Zoom at a set time: you get an ingredient list beforehand and cook along while the chef answers questions.
Are there free online cooking classes?
Rouxbe has a 7-day free trial with no credit card, and America’s Test Kitchen has a 14-day free trial of its Essential membership. MasterClass has no free trial of its own, but a member can send you a 14-day Guest Pass. YouTube has plenty of free cooking videos, but without the structured lessons and written recipes.
Can you get a cooking certificate online?
Yes, from Rouxbe: its membership courses end with a Certificate of Completion, and its Professional Cook and Plant-Based certifications ($1,999 each) are graded. MasterClass, YesChef and ATK do not give certificates. For an accredited diploma, look at online culinary schools.
How much do online cooking classes cost?
Subscriptions run about $90 to $240 a year: ATK Classes $89.99 with Essential, MasterClass $120 to $240, Rouxbe $129, YesChef $168 for the first year on its fall sale ($240 list). Live Zoom classes cost about $30 to $85 each, and a single Udemy course is priced individually.
MasterClass or YesChef for cooking?
MasterClass for variety and value: more chefs, 200+ other classes and a $120 entry price. YesChef for depth: fewer, longer classes from chefs like Jamie Oliver and Francis Mallmann. Our YesChef vs MasterClass comparison breaks it down.
What is the best online cooking class for couples?
A live class. Sur La Table charges per household (from $39), so two people cook for one price, and Cozymeal has a couples filter with date-night menus. For something you can repeat, cook through one MasterClass or YesChef class together.
Can you really learn to cook from an online class?
Yes, if you cook along and repeat dishes. Video lets you pause and rewatch a technique as often as you need, which an in-person class does not. What you miss is someone tasting your food: for that, pick Rouxbe, whose chef-instructors answer questions in every course, or a live Zoom class where the chef can see your pan.
Which platform has the most online cooking classes?
Among the subscriptions here, MasterClass: its Food and Drink category listed 30 instructors on 14 October 2026, against seven full YesChef classes and Rouxbe’s 11 membership courses. Udemy has the largest catalog overall, but it is a marketplace of independent instructors rather than one curated school.
Do online cooking classes renew automatically?
Subscriptions do. MasterClass and YesChef annual plans renew automatically until you turn auto-renewal off, and both refund only within 30 days of a first purchase. Rouxbe’s monthly plan can be canceled anytime. Single Udemy courses and live classes do not renew.
Related guides
Browse by subject: this guide is part of our best online courses by subject index, one verified top pick per field.