📊 Save 30% on Corporate Finance Institute with code AFF30. FMVA, financial modeling & more. Claim the deal →
Best UX Design Bootcamps 2022

Best UX Design Bootcamps 2026: 5 Programs Still Enrolling

Last updated: September 2026. Written by Josh Hutcheson, OnlineCourseing editor. Every bootcamp below was checked on its own site on 21 September 2026 to confirm it is still enrolling, and every price and refund term was read there. See our review methodology.

Disclosure: we earn a commission if you enroll with Designlab, Treehouse or Coursera through our links, and from Springboard when you use our code OC1000SB. We have no relationship with General Assembly or Beginex. Commissions never decide the ranking; being open for enrollment does.

THE SHORT ANSWER

The UX bootcamp market has shrunk since this guide first ran: CareerFoundry has closed, Thinkful now enrolls only through employers, and BrainStation has replaced its bootcamp with a part-time certificate. Five good programs are still enrolling.

  • Best overall: Designlab UX Academy — working-designer mentor, $7,999 upfront, tuition reimbursement terms.
  • Mentoring at a lower price: Springboard UI/UX Design — $7,190 upfront, $1,000 off with OC1000SB.
  • Full-time and live: General Assembly — 12 weeks full-time.
  • Already know the basics: Beginex — a real client project, $4,995.
  • Lowest cost: Treehouse UX Design Techdegree — $199 a month.

See Designlab UX Academy →

UX design bootcamps compared

Before you commit $300+ to a bootcamp, read this.

I've reviewed ZTM, Codecademy Pro, Springboard, and a dozen others. Get my Tuesday picks — plus reader-only codes when they drop.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

VERIFIED ON EACH PROVIDER’S SITE, 21 SEPTEMBER 2026

Bootcamp Format Length Cost (21 Sept 2026) Refund terms Best for
Designlab UX Academy Online, 1:1 mentor 21 wk full-time / 36 wk part-time $7,999 upfront Tuition reimbursement (6 months) Best overall
Springboard UI/UX Design Online, mentor + coach 9 months $7,190 upfront ($8,690 list) None on this track Mentoring at a lower price
General Assembly UX Design Live, full- or part-time 12 wk full-time / 32 wk part-time On request Not stated on its page Full-time, live classes
Beginex UX Program Live online, client project 15 weeks part-time $4,995 Tuition + $500 (6 months) People with basic UX skills
Treehouse UX Design Techdegree Self-paced 3 to 8 months $199 a month Not advertised Lowest cost

How we chose

The first test was simple: is the program enrolling today? When we re-checked the ten bootcamps this page originally listed, two companies had stopped selling to individuals, two programs had been discontinued or folded into other products, and two entries were single video courses rather than bootcamps. The five that remain were each checked on the provider’s own site for a live program page, a way to enroll, current prices and refund terms.

We then ranked them on what a bootcamp adds over a cheap course: feedback from a working designer, structure that keeps you finishing, a portfolio built on real problems and help with the job search. Price and refund terms broke ties. We have not taken these programs ourselves; everything here is from what each provider publishes.

The best UX design bootcamps in 2026

1. Designlab UX Academy: best overall

Designlab is a design-focused school, and it shows in the structure. Most students start with UX Academy Foundations, 4 to 8 weeks at about 10 to 20 hours a week covering visual design, UI basics and Figma, ending in a 10-hour design challenge that serves as the entry project for the main program. UX Academy then takes 21 weeks full-time (40 hours a week) or 36 weeks part-time (20 hours a week), with a self-paced option of up to 18 months.

Every student gets a dedicated 1:1 mentor, whom Designlab describes as a working designer vetted for design skill and communication, on regular video calls, followed by a career coach in the Career Services stage. The curriculum covers research, strategy, visual design, prototyping, testing and portfolio case studies, and now includes AI-assisted design workflows. Cohorts start monthly; the next Foundations cohort was listed from 12 October 2026 when we checked.

  • Cost: $7,999 upfront (a $399 deposit plus $7,600), $8,399 in six or ten interest-free instalments including a $400 fee, or $9,632 to $11,809 through Climb Credit (US only).
  • Refund terms: tuition reimbursement if you complete the program, meet participation requirements and land no qualifying design role within six months of graduation. Designlab deliberately does not call it a job guarantee.
  • Watch out for: the full path is long; budget for Foundations plus 21 or 36 weeks.

Check the next Designlab cohort →

2. Springboard UI/UX Design: mentoring at a lower price

Springboard’s UI/UX Design track runs about nine months online and pairs each student with a mentor, a career coach and a student advisor. It lists at $8,690, or $7,190 paid upfront, and our code OC1000SB takes $1,000 off any Springboard course. Monthly plans and Climb Credit loans are also available.

One point that older reviews get wrong: Springboard offers a money-back guarantee on its Data Analytics, Data Science, Software Engineering and Cybersecurity tracks, but the UI/UX Design page does not offer it. If refund terms matter to you, that tilts the choice towards Designlab or Beginex. Read our Springboard review and Designlab vs Springboard before deciding.

See Springboard UI/UX with $1,000 off →

3. General Assembly UX Design Bootcamp: best for full-time, live learning

General Assembly is the pick if you want classroom-style intensity. Its UX Design Bootcamp runs full-time for 12 weeks at eight hours a day, working mostly in real time with classmates and instructors, or part-time over 32 weeks at about 15 hours a week with due dates to keep you on track. Both include one-to-one support and career coaching.

General Assembly does not publish its tuition on the program page; you request details through a form, and it advertises 0% interest financing and tuition discounts. We are not affiliated with it. Ask admissions for the total cost and any outcomes data in writing before you commit.

4. Beginex UX Program: best if you already know the basics

Beginex is aimed at people who have basic UX skills but no real-world experience. Its program runs 15 weeks part-time and live online: 10 weeks working with a real social-impact client and mentors, then five weeks of career preparation on your portfolio, résumé and interviews. The live class is Wednesday evenings, 6:30 to 9:30 pm Eastern, plus 10 to 12 hours of work outside class.

  • Cost: $4,995 total, or $4,695 to $4,995 paid upfront; payment plans from $149 a month; or $6,995 deferred until you are hired (limited, US and Canada).
  • Refund terms: follow its guidelines and land a UX role within six months of starting your search, or get your tuition back plus $500.
  • Check first: when we looked on 21 September 2026, its site still listed “Summer 2026” as the next start date. Confirm the next cohort before you apply.

5. Treehouse UX Design Techdegree: lowest cost

Treehouse’s UX Design Techdegree is the budget route: $199 a month after a seven-day free trial, self-paced over roughly three to eight months, with 11 projects covering user research, wireframing, prototyping, Figma, usability testing, design systems and accessibility. You can pause or cancel anytime, and Treehouse says financial aid is available.

It is lighter on human feedback than the mentored programs above and does not advertise refund terms, so it suits disciplined self-starters. At four months it costs about $800, a tenth of Designlab. Our Treehouse review covers the platform in more depth.

Try the Treehouse UX Techdegree free →

What you learn in a UX design bootcamp

The curricula of the five programs overlap heavily, because they are all preparing you for the same interview: a walk through your portfolio. Expect to cover:

  • User research: interviews, surveys and usability studies to find out what people actually need.
  • Information architecture and wireframing: structuring content and flows before any visual design.
  • Prototyping in Figma: the tool every program on this list teaches, from low-fidelity sketches to clickable prototypes.
  • Usability testing and iteration: putting designs in front of users and changing them based on what you see.
  • Visual and UI design: layout, typography, colour and design systems; Designlab front-loads this in Foundations.
  • Accessibility: designing for people with different abilities, part of Treehouse’s curriculum.
  • AI-assisted workflows: Designlab and Treehouse now both build AI tools into their programs.
  • Portfolio case studies: writing up your projects to show your reasoning, not just the final screens.

Where the programs differ is in the projects. Designlab and Springboard use structured course projects reviewed by your mentor; Beginex puts you on a real client’s problem for ten weeks; General Assembly works through projects in live classes; Treehouse gives you 11 projects to complete on your own. Real-client work is the hardest thing to get on your own, which is Beginex’s main selling point.

Cheaper alternatives that are not bootcamps

A bootcamp is mainly paying for feedback, structure and career help. If you can supply those yourself, a certificate program covers the curriculum for much less:

  • Google UX Design Certificate (Coursera): eight courses, about six months at 10 hours a week, with more than 1.5 million learners enrolled. Our full review covers what it does and does not replace.
  • University of Michigan UX Research and Design (Coursera): six courses, about two months at 10 hours a week, rated 4.7 from 2,316 reviews. The closest thing to a UX research bootcamp at certificate prices.
  • Interaction Design Foundation membership: 42 courses and a library of master classes on one subscription, with a 14-day money-back guarantee. It replaced the IxDF bootcamp this page used to list.

Our guide to the best UX design courses ranks these and other self-paced options.

UX bootcamps that have closed or changed since 2022

Several programs that still appear in other rankings are no longer available as bootcamps. Check before you pay:

  • CareerFoundry: ceased operations on 28 February 2026 as part of insolvency proceedings (closure notice). Much of its website is still online and still advertises programs; do not pay for one.
  • Thinkful: became Chegg Skills in October 2023 and now enrolls only through Guild, an employer education-benefits platform, with no public tuition. See Springboard vs Thinkful.
  • BrainStation: its UX bootcamp page now redirects to an AI Product Design Certification, a part-time live course in New York, Toronto, London or online, with pricing available on request. A reasonable course, but no longer a bootcamp.
  • Interaction Design Foundation: its bootcamps page now redirects to its course catalog; the membership above is what remains.

How much does a UX bootcamp cost?

Option What you pay What it includes
Treehouse UX Design Techdegree $199 a month after a 7-day free trial Self-paced projects; pause or cancel anytime
Beginex UX Program $4,695 to $4,995 upfront; from $149 a month; $6,995 deferred until hired Live client project, mentors, career prep
Springboard UI/UX Design $7,190 upfront; $8,690 list; $1,000 off with OC1000SB Mentor, career coach, student advisor
Designlab UX Academy $7,999 upfront; $8,399 in instalments; $9,632 to $11,809 via Climb Credit 1:1 mentor, career coach, reimbursement terms
General Assembly UX Design Not published; 0% interest financing offered Instructor-led classes, career coaching

Two things change the real price. Paying upfront saves $400 at Designlab and $1,500 at Springboard, but instalments keep more of your money safe if a program changes or you need to stop. And loans add interest: Designlab’s Climb Credit option totals up to $11,809 against $7,999 upfront.

Check for employer funding first

More of this market now runs through employers. Chegg Skills, the former Thinkful, enrolls only through Guild, an education-benefits platform that employers pay for, and BrainStation says its design certification qualifies for most corporate learning and development budgets. If you are employed, ask HR whether your company offers an education benefit before you pay for a bootcamp yourself; even partial funding changes which of these programs is the best value, and some benefits require you to stay with the employer for a set period afterwards, so read those terms too.

Refund terms and job guarantees, compared

Only two of the five publish refund terms tied to getting a job, and both attach conditions:

Bootcamp What the terms say
Designlab Complete the program, meet participation requirements, and if no qualifying design role within 6 months of graduation, tuition is reimbursed
Beginex Follow its guidelines, and if no UX role within 6 months of starting your search, tuition back plus $500
Springboard UI/UX Its money-back guarantee is not offered on this track
General Assembly Not stated on the UX program page; ask admissions
Treehouse No job-linked refund advertised; monthly billing you can cancel

Treat these as signs of confidence, not insurance. A refund returns tuition, not the months you spent, and the participation rules decide whether you qualify.

How to choose a UX bootcamp

  1. Confirm it is enrolling. Look for a dated next cohort and talk to admissions. CareerFoundry’s website kept selling after the company closed.
  2. Match the format to your life. Full-time (General Assembly) is fastest but needs your whole week; part-time and self-paced programs fit around a job.
  3. Weigh the mentor. Ask who reviews your work and how often. This is most of what the higher price buys.
  4. Read the refund terms in full before paying, including what counts as a qualifying role.
  5. Try the field cheaply first. A free trial (Treehouse) or a certificate course tells you within weeks whether you enjoy the work.

Are UX design bootcamps worth it?

They can be, for the right person. UX hiring is portfolio-driven: employers want to see how you research a problem, test designs and explain your decisions. A good bootcamp speeds that up by giving you projects, deadlines and an experienced designer’s critique. What it cannot do is guarantee the market: entry-level design roles are competitive, and the bootcamps that closed show that even the provider is a risk.

If you are changing careers and need structure and feedback, a mentored program such as Designlab or Springboard is a defensible spend. If you are disciplined, already have design experience, or are still testing the field, start with Treehouse or a certificate and upgrade later.

UX design bootcamps: FAQ

What is the best UX design bootcamp in 2026?

Designlab UX Academy is our top pick: a 1:1 mentor who is a working designer, a structured path from a short Foundations course into the main program, and tuition reimbursement if you meet its terms and do not land a design role within six months of graduating. It costs $7,999 upfront as of 21 September 2026.

How much does a UX design bootcamp cost?

From $199 a month for Treehouse’s self-paced Techdegree to $7,999 upfront for Designlab UX Academy, as of 21 September 2026. Beginex costs $4,995, Springboard’s UI/UX track $7,190 upfront, and General Assembly does not publish its tuition. Payment plans and loans raise the total cost.

Do UX bootcamps have job guarantees?

Some offer refund terms. Designlab reimburses tuition if you complete the program, meet participation requirements and land no qualifying design role within six months of graduation; Beginex refunds tuition plus $500 if you follow its guidelines and land no UX role within six months of starting your search. Springboard’s UI/UX page does not offer its money-back guarantee.

Is CareerFoundry still a good UX bootcamp?

No. CareerFoundry ceased operations on 28 February 2026 as part of insolvency proceedings and no longer enrolls students, although parts of its website are still online. Choose a bootcamp that is actively enrolling.

Can I learn UX design without a bootcamp?

Yes. Google’s UX Design Certificate on Coursera covers the fundamentals in about six months at 10 hours a week, and hiring managers judge your portfolio more than your credential. A bootcamp mainly adds mentor feedback, structure and career support.

Is there a UX research bootcamp?

None of the bootcamps on this list is research-only. For research specifically, the University of Michigan’s User Experience Research and Design specialization on Coursera is six courses, about two months at 10 hours a week, and rated 4.7 from 2,316 reviews.

Do you need design experience to join a UX bootcamp?

Not for most. Designlab starts beginners in its 4 to 8 week Foundations course, and Springboard, General Assembly and Treehouse accept career changers. Beginex is the exception: it is built for people who already have basic UX skills and want real-client experience. Springboard’s money-back guarantee, where offered, usually requires a bachelor’s degree.

How long does a UX bootcamp take?

Between about three months and nine months for most people: General Assembly’s full-time format takes 12 weeks, Beginex 15 weeks, Designlab 21 weeks full-time or 36 part-time after a 4 to 8 week Foundations course, and Springboard nine months. Treehouse is self-paced at three to eight months.

Bottom line

Five UX bootcamps are worth your time in 2026. Designlab is the best all-round choice, Springboard the best value for mentoring, General Assembly the best full-time option, Beginex the best next step if you know the basics, and Treehouse the cheapest way in. Whichever you pick, confirm the next cohort and read the refund terms before you pay.

Explore Designlab UX Academy →

Related guides: Best UX design courses · Designlab UX Academy review · Designlab vs Springboard · After CareerFoundry: what to choose · Best coding bootcamps